## **2017 School Calendar Flexibility Bills**

## **Local Bills**

Bill#	Primary Sponsors	School Systems	Type of Flexibility
HB 20	Rep. Dennis Riddell Rep. Stephen Ross	Alamance-Burlington	Full
HB 41	Rep. Harry Warren	Rowan-Salisbury (also SB 56)	Full
HB 47	Rep. Michael Speciale Rep. Beverly Boswell	Beaufort Craven Dare Hyde Pamlico Washington	Full
HB 50	Rep. Justin Burr	Stanly (also SB 56)	Full
HB 51	Rep. Justin Burr	Montgomery	Full
HB 60	Rep. Allen McNeill Rep. Pat Hurley	Randolph Asheboro City	August 1 Opening  Can schedule opening/closing dates to align with those of community colleges serving the LEA
HB 77	Rep. Larry Strickland (fmr school board member) Rep. Donna White (fmr school bd member) Rep. William Brisson	Johnston	Full
HB 79	Rep. John Torbett	Gaston	Full
HB 93	Rep. Larry Bell	Duplin Sampson Wayne	Full
HB 106	Rep. Carl Ford	Cabarrus Kannapolis City	Full
HB 108	Rep. John Bradford Rep. Kelly Alexander Rep. Becky Carney Rep. Andy Dulin	Charlotte-Mecklenburg	Full
HB 112	Rep. Donny Lambeth (fmr school board member) Rep. Ed Hanes Rep. Debra Conrad	Winston-Salem/Forsyth	Authority to schedule opening/closing dates for any school to align with opening/closing dates of community

			colleges serving the LEA
HB 121	Rep. Kyle Hall Rep. Sarah Stevens Rep. Bert Jones	Caswell Elkin City Mount Airy City Rockingham Surry Stokes	Full  Must allow any student absent from school before September 1 because of family vacation to receive an excused absence and make up missed work
HB 166	Rep. David Lewis	Cleveland	Full
HB 167	Rep. Bobbie Richardson (fmr school board member)	Franklin	Full
HB 188	Rep. Josh Dobson	Avery McDowell Mitchell	Full
HB 202	Rep. David Rogers	Rutherford	Full
HB 203	Rep. Jonathan Jordan	Watauga (also SB 195)	Full
HB 209	Rep. Larry Potts Rep. Sam Watford	Davidson Lexington City Thomasville City	Full
HB 210	Rep. Amos Quick (fmr school board member) Rep. Pricey Harrison Rep. Cecil Brockman	Guilford (also SB 221)	Full
HB 213	Rep. Joe John Rep. Cynthia Ball Rep. Darren Jackson Rep. Rosa Gill (fmr school board member)	Wake	Full
HB 231	Rep. Shelly Willingham (fmr school board member)	Martin	Full NCSBA whereas clauses
HB 234	Rep. Destin Hall	Caldwell (also SB 194)	Full
HB 253	Rep. Jonathan Jordan	Ashe Alleghany (SB 110) Wilkes	Full
HB 269	Rep. Larry Yarborough	Person (also SB 101)	Full

HB 281		Hoke	August 10 start date
			Eliminates weather waivers
HB 286	Rep. Marvin Lucas Rep. Elmer Floyd Rep. John Szoka Rep. William Richardson	Cumberland	Full
HB 291	Rep. Brenden Jones Rep. Ken Goodman	Bladen Columbus (also SB 227) Robeson (also SB 227) Whiteville City (also SB 227)	Full
HB 296	Rep. Allen McNeil Rep. James Boles	Moore	August 10 start date  Eliminates weather waivers
HB 301	Rep. Julia Howard	Davie	Full
HB 313	Rep. Graig Meyer Rep. Mickey Michaux Rep. Philip Lehman Rep. MaryAnn Black	Durham	Full
HB 314	Rep. Graig Meyer Rep. Verla Insko	Orange (also SB 201) Chapel Hill-Carrboro (also SB 215)	Full
HB 318	Rep. Lee Zachary	Yadkin	Full
HB 346	Rep. John Fraley	Iredell-Statesville Mooresville	Full
HB 372	Rep. Terry Garrison	Warren	Aug 10
HB 377	Rep. Robert Reives	Chatham	Full
SB 56	Sen. Tom McInnis (fmr school board member)	Anson Richmond Rowan-Salisbury (also HB 41) Scotland Stanly (also HB 50)	Full
SB 101	Sen. Mike Woodard	Person (also HB 269)	Full
SB 110	Sen. Shirley Randleman Sen. Deanna Ballard	Alleghany Ashe also HB 253 Wilkes	Full
SB 194	Sen. Deanna Ballard	Caldwell (also HB 234)	Full
SB 195	Sen. Deanna Ballard	Watauga (also HB 203)	Full

SB 201	Sen. Valerie Foushee (fmr school bd member)	Orange (also HB 314) Chatham	Full
SB 215	Sen. Valerie Foushee (fmr school bd member)	Chapel Hill-Carrboro (also SB 314)	5 year pilot of full flexibility
SB 221	Sen. Gladys Robinson	Guilford (HB 210)	Full
SB 226	Sen. Erica Smith-Ingram (fmr school bd member) Sen. Angela Bryant	Bertie Edenton-Chowan Edgecombe Halifax Hertford Martin Nash-Rocky Mount Northampton Roanoke Rapids Tyrell Vance Warren Washington Wilson	Full
SB 227	Sen. Danny Earl Britt	Weldon City Columbus Whiteville City Robeson	August 10 start date  Eliminates weather waivers
SB 233	Sen. Erica Smith-Ingram (fmr school bd member) Sen. Angela Bryant	Bertie Edenton-Chowan Edgecombe Halifax Hertford Martin Nash-Rocky Mount Northampton Roanoke Rapids Tyrell Vance Warren Washington Wilson Weldon City	Adjust calendar to align with local community college serving the LEA
SB 237	Sen. Mike Woodard	Caswell	Full
SB 262	Sen. Cathy Dunn	Davidson Lex City Thomasville City	Full

## **Statewide Bills**

Bill #	Primary Sponsors	School Systems	Type of Flexibility
HB 53	Rep. Cody Henson	All	August 10 start date
	Rep. Mitch Setzer		
	Rep. Kevin Corbin (fmr school		Eliminates weather
	board member)		waivers
	Rep. Michele Presnell		
HB 375	Rep. Craig Horn	All	Align with CC
	Rep. Jonathan Jordan		Calendars
	Rep. Chuck McGrady		
	Rep. Linda Johnson		No earlier than Aug
			15